.the things you tell yourself. {NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 2}

Happy NaPoWriMo to you all! Although, we’re only on day 2, I hope you all have been writing profusely!
Today’s prompts at NaPoWriMo and Writer’s Digest are stars and secrets, respectively. This time around I thought I’d combine the prompts into one piece, in the interest of time. I have a few things on my list of tasks for the day and want to succeed at getting through them all.
My piece is about the thing you tell yourself when no one is listening, in those secret moments, about your art, your purpose. I decided on concept instead of using the words concretely as a way of challenging myself to grow ideas.
Tell me a little about how this year’s NaPoWriMo has grown you as a writer, thus far.
.the things you tell yourself.
the words escape
me more often than not
the day awakes
& has it’s purpose
at the ankles of some
mountain the back of a stone
is petted by the sun & they have
both fulfilled their lots
the words escape
me more often than not
i look up at polaris
hours will melt over my head
time will tick to the tune
of my tomb & minutes pass
me without so much as a glance
i then treat time
the same and close
my eyes to her
she neither weeps for me
nor the stone
neither of us having any cause
just meager histories sitting still
as a misplaced loess
trespasses upon us
yet words escape
more often than not
5 thoughts on “.the things you tell yourself. {NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 2}

    1. thank you for reading and for your observations! I’m honored to have gotten THREE reads πŸ™‚
      I packed a good bit of drama at the end since it can be a bit so when you can’t write and your pen, pad, and thoughts just seem to collect dust somewhere out there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

