.NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 6.

It’s day six, people! I hope you’re all getting some good writing in! It’s a rainy day where I am, so this lent to some inspiration for one of the prompts for today. For NaPoWriMo the prompt is an aubade, the twist being that it can be about Mondays, if you feel inclined. The prompt for Writer’s Digest today is a things-not-as-they-appear poem, in short, use metaphor.

If you are doing both prompts try putting them both on one piece. Let me know how to goes for you!  Side Note: I realized, that being National Poetry Month it would only be right if I started showcasing my favorite writers and also the ones I have “discovered”, recently. I’ll start doing so as of tomorrow. Hopefully you’ll find a favorite in common or develop a love for a writer who is new to you. 


 

.aubade to exodus.

already
he wears the dawn heavy,
anticipating it’s removal
from his shoulders
the teeth marks of the
hours have a distinct gnaw
upon his jagged ribs

and the water rises

 

exodus.
wandering into the unknown
doubting his fate, his back
of bellrope needs loosening

he makes a tabernacle of all
the aberrations available
to slur the sermons, keeping
the ritual of consumption holy.

 

selah.

 

the ritual, holy, and as such
be the souls at the gates
peering into what will be

tomorrow the sun
and the water
rise again…

One thought on “.NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 6.

  1. This is true literature… as always, i expect nothing less from you. I loved the line “the teeth marks of the hours” just perfect. Yeah, you make me want to quite writing. I will always be the Plath to your Hughes, but i’m okay with that 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

