.parody. {NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 24}

This Is Just To Say
William Carlos Williams
 I have eaten
the plums
                                                                       that were in                                                                       the icebox
and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast
Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

.Parody.
ijs (i’m just sayin’)
i got lost
in a distraction
that i worked
so hard to stay from
and which you
were probably
expecting from me
forgive me
you were
so very boring

The Red Wheelbarrow
William Carlos Williams
so much depends
upon
a red wheel
barrow
glazed with rain
water
beside the white
chickens.

.Parody.
priorities
so much depends
upon
the chickens
beside a red
wheel barrow
for wheel barrows
don’t lay eggs

Ode on the Death of a Favorite Cat
(exceprt)
Thomas Gray
Twas on a lofty vase’s side,
Where China’s gayest art had dyed
    The azure flowers that blow;
Demurest of the tabby kind,
The pensive Selima, reclined,
    Gazed on the lake below.
Her conscious tail her joy declared;
The fair round face, the snowy beard,
    The velvet of her paws,
Her coat, that with the tortoise vies,
Her ears of jet, and emerald eyes,
    She saw; and purred applause.
Still had she gazed; but ‘midst the tide
Two angel forms were seen to glide,
    The genii of the stream:
Their scaly armor’s Tyrian hue
Through richest purple to the view
    Betrayed a golden gleam.

.Parody.

An Ode on the Death of a  Laptop

twas on a lofty bed’s side
where all my writing was done,
i tapped away at something of the artful kind
i fixated on the words ahead, one by one

“im almost done!”, a declare is dared
then something went awry
programs are not responding, i rub my beard

still I watched the screen intent
i prayed oh please don’t let this be
and then as if my prayer wasn’t sent
my screen went blank…all I hear is “hee hee”


It’s day 24 of NaPoWriMo and we have two new prompts, one being to write a satire or a parody of a poem that you like or don’t like and the other being to write a poem about a moment. I’ve combined mine, each of which highlight a moment that I have parodied. I chose short poems and excerpts since satirizing or doing a parody of something longer was exhausting and not too fun, quite honestly.

I used William Carlos Williams and Thomas Gray for my parodies and it was really fun to change these up to have a totally different meaning. I wonder if they and everyone else who’s work we are playing with would be offended… 🙂

I think it’s a great exercise in that you need to become very familiar with the poem that you are either satirizing or doing a parody of. You become a better student of forms, style, devices, etc and ultimately become a better writer, yourself. Well, at least that’s the hope!

I really do hope you all has as good a time as I did with the challenge for the day!


suzette haden elgin

The multi-talented Elgin, grandmother of 10, holds a Ph.D. in linguistics from the University of California, San Diego and has written numerous poems, short stories, songs and serial Elgin S.Hnovels. She is author of the poetry guide The Science Fiction Poetry Handbook and inventor the language Láadan, which was used in her bookNative Tongue. She’s also an accomplished visual artist and musician.

Elgin has worked hard over her career to bring literary credibility to the genre of science fiction poetry, to create meaningful definitions for the term and to encourage science fiction poets to apply high standards to their work.

Elgin is also a strong believer in science fiction writing as a powerful tool for women and stated in a 1999 interview with Kim Wells, “Women need to realize that SF is the only genre of literature in which it’s possible for a writer to explore the question of what this world would be like if you could get rid of [X], where [X] is filled in with any of the multitude of real world facts that constrain and oppress women. Women need to treasure and support science fiction.”

Suzette Haden Elgin, Earth Song
Many of her works use science fiction to explore themes of women’s personal transformation. Elgin’s poetry avoids the clichéd realm of space wars and time travel and instead uses science fiction as a springboard for exploring the vast potential of culture and society. Read more here and here.


 

Bardo Crossing

far away, on the silent deserts,
you can hear the singing of the lizards.

One creeps beneath a rock and shivers with joy.
So long as they sing in the purple desert light,
so long as they stay small,
they are bearable creatures.
Were one to see them large,
howling against a sky snagged by a raw moon,
the holy men of the sands would see the people
going out in the dead of night with their flasks of poisons
into the dens of the lizards,
destroying them utterly.

In order to reach the other side,
in order to pass the Window by,
she must see them large,
rampant, their claws covered with dung,
pierced by the spiny plants they skitter among;
she must know them for what they are.

6 thoughts on “.parody. {NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 24}

  1. Haha! Great satire! You went the humorous route as is the typical method of satire, (I chose to go with a more scathing ironic wit within the somber robe, as is my tendency lol) and you did several, nice!

    Like

    1. Thanks! It’s atypical for me but a prompt is a prompt, after all 🙂 . it was fun to write these and I might find some more to work on.
      I just read yours and absolutely love it! Wit and scathe are always welcome when they help to create what you share in our words!

      Like

  2. I really enjoyed your parodies, particularly your first one. I do love WCW’s “This Is Just To Say.” Your poem was sharp and witty. Today, I just couldn’t address the NaPoWriMo prompt, but reading your parody poems inspires me to go back to the drawing board with this “assignment.” Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jaime 🙂 I’ve always liked that poem because to me it’s very sweet and loving. There’s such an understanding there. Then I went and made a parody of it, haa! Don’t feel bad. I almost always feel that I can’t address the prompts and end up with something at the end of the day. It’s a workout for me. I don’t usually write daily and only when inspiration strikes. I hope you come up with something! I’ll check for it. Thanks again for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

