.what’s not to love.

Humanity hands by luuqas
Credit: Lucas Iacono   (click photo to visit site)

Humanity i love you
because you would rather black the boots of
success than enquire whose soul dangles from his
watch-chain which would be embarrassing for both

parties and because you
unflinchingly applaud all
songs containing the words country home and
mother when sung at the old howard

Humanity i love you because
when you’re hard up you pawn your
intelligence to buy a drink and when
you’re flush pride keeps

you from the pawn shop and
because you are continually committing
nuisances but more
especially in your own house

Humanity i love you because you
are perpetually putting the secret of
life in your pants and forgetting
it’s there and sitting down

on it
and because you are
forever making poems in the lap
of death Humanity

i hate you

humanity i love you

-ee cummings


2_4_masakuni
Credit: bonsaiempire.com

I’m a pruner, constantly snipping, cutting, deleting the excess. I do this mostly with people. I’m a loner, for the most part, and don’t make friends easily. The friends I do have, the ones that I truly consider friends, have been so for 30 plus years. Other than that, the rest of the world is an acquaintance. My sense of loyalty and general distrust of most people makes it so. Being an only child, I’ve always been a watcher and highly protective of my feelings, highly skeptical of intent. I don’t warm up to you until I have observed you in the wild, so to speak. For those reasons, humanity has given me more to despise than love. Humanity’s resistance to change (mine, included), makes it to where I want to let in as minimal of an amount of it as I can at one time. The idiosyncrasies and quirks I exhibit are enough to contend with, let alone those of others, that I will have to learn and devise plans to maneuver around and through, with relation to my own. It’s simply too much work.

I really do love you, Humanity, but I hate you, and I mean that in the best possible way.

7 thoughts on “.what’s not to love.

  1. I just love e.e. cummings! I too am an only child (technically…you see, I have a half brother and a half sister who are closer to my mother’s age than mine, so I never lived at home with them. They were off at college or getting married when I was still in diapers). I feel the same way about making friends. I have so many old friends who don’t live near me anymore. Making new friends is risky and sometimes not worth the time (in my humble and skeptical opinion). Poetry and prose have become my dear friends. Sometimes like my poem “my diet” suggests, all I need to be sustained is my writing…well that and my husband who makes sure I eat actual food…haha! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with the “humanity” on the internet…it’s making it a better place for untrusting pariahs like myself to enter the conversation unreservedly. My best to you and your family! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m in the “new friend” situation right now that lends much credence to this post. I too find art to be my only true friend aside from my immediate family.

      Yeah, I don’t care about rustling feathers about friendship. The way I see it is that if I open myself up to you, which is something I NEVER do, and things go wrong and there’s no effort to work it out, it wasn’t worth my time and energy to begin with. It’s enough to maintain a balance on the home front, let alone having to try to finesse an outside friendship.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I really do want to have faith. It’s just that I keep being proved right so it’s difficult to continue to grasp on to that faith.

      Thank you for the love and light. May it make its way towards you, as well 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

